Mary Logan Scholarship (2018)

In 1999, the Association of Food and Drug Officials of the Southern States (AFDOSS) established the Mary Logan Scholarship in honor of one of our great members who served as Secretary/Treasurer for our regional affiliate for 30 years. The scholarship is in the amount of $4,500 or as approved on a yearly basis by the AFDOSS Board. Mrs. Logan, who is now retired, worked 39 years with the Tennessee Department of Agriculture. The scholarship is designed to be awarded to top students demonstrating a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods or drugs. The recipient should have obvious leadership capabilities. This award, if given will be announced at the AFDOSS Awards Banquet during the AFDOSS annual educational conference.

The criteria for this award reflects the love and dedication that Mary Logan has for AFDOSS and for every person that belongs to AFDOSS or supports its goals and objectives. This award stands not only as a tribute to Mary Logan, but as a reminder that AFDOSS must always support and encourage the training and development of people. It is a symbol that the role of AFDOSS will not only live on, but that its role will expand and grow.

Criteria for Selection of Award Recipient

The following criteria will be used by the selection committee to select the award recipient.  The applicant must:

1)     Be a full-time student or accepted as a full-time student planning to attend college the next semester pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree or a part-time student pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree. 

2)     Submit the completed application, two (2) letters of recommendation, and a copy of your most recent transcripts to Cameron Smoak 1071 Brooks Rd Madison, GA 30650 or

3)     Deadline to apply is on or before March 1 (annually), with scholarships to be awarded in time for the upcoming year’s fall semester.

To help rank the applicants, points will be given in the following areas:

               Level of academic achievement and scholastic awards

               Financial need

               Extracurricular activities and community service work

               Narrative justification

               Applicants who have not previously received the Mary Logan Scholarship

Deadline: March 1, 2018

To apply for the Mary Logan Scholarship, download our scholarship application: