AFDOSS 2018 Annual Educational Conference

The AFDOSS 2018 AEC was held in Gatlinburg, Tenn., Sept. 9-12, see photos here. The AFDOSS Board welcomes Matthew Coleman (FL) as Jr. Board Member this year. A new secretary position was added, and we are excited to welcome Jon Wheeler (SC) as our interim Secretary until the next election in 2019. Meet the entire AFDOSS Board here.

Each year, AFDOSS recognizes leaders in food protection during its AEC. This year we’d like to extend congratulations to Dr. John Fruin, who is the 2018 Eugene H. Holeman Award recipient. You can read more about Dr. Fruin’s contributions to food protection here. Additionally, we recognized new honorary Life Members this year, including Dr. Fruin, Jimmy Hopper, Rita Johnson and Doug Saunders

During the meeting, the annual live auction was a huge hit (as always), and overall the AEC successfully fundraised $7,600 for the Mary Logan Scholarship. Congrats to the 2018 scholarship winner, Sophia Pinton, who is currently enrolled at Virginia Tech. Learn more about the AFDOSS awards & scholarship opportunities here.

Be sure to save the date for the 2019 conference, where AFDOSS will co-host the AFDO 123rd AEC in Atlanta, Ga., June 22-26, 2019. More details about the event can be found here, and we’ll be sending email updates to members in the coming months.