Log in

association of
food and drug officials

Many Perspectives, One Voice Since 1896

Log in

<< Press Releases

Association of Food and Drug Officials


July 18, 2014

Contact: Joe Corby, 518-860-2838,


International Honor for Exemplary Success and Leadership in Food Safety 

Denver, Colorado – July 18, 2014 – Allison Orr, Genette Stump, and Brittany Wells were awarded undergraduate scholarships at the 118th AFDO Annual Educational Conference on Tuesday, June 24, 2014.

The George M. Burditt, Betsy B. Woodward, and Denise C. Rooney scholarships, each in the amount of $1,500, are awarded annually to qualified undergraduate students in their third year of college.

The following qualifications and conditions have been established for the award recipients: The recipients should have demonstrated a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods, drugs or consumer product safety; should have demonstrated leadership capabilities; and must have at least a 3.0 grade point average during the first two years of undergraduate study.

Allison Jane Orr is currently attending Florida State University. She is pursuing a bachelor’s of science in dietetics.

Genette Lynn Stump is currently attending Old Dominion University. She is pursuing a bachelor’s of health science in environmental health.

Brittany Wells is currently attending Eastern Kentucky University. She is pursuing a bachelor’s of science in environmental health.

About Association of Food and Drug Officials

The Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO), established in 1896, successfully fosters uniformity in the adoption and enforcement of science-based food, drug, medical devices, cosmetics and product safety laws, rules, and regulations.  AFDO and its six Regional Affiliates provide the mechanism and the forum where regional, national and international issues are deliberated and resolved to uniformly provide the best public health and consumer protection in the most expeditious and cost effective manner.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software