Log in

association of
food and drug officials

Many Perspectives, One Voice Since 1896

Log in

Food Code Adoption by State

State Adoption

Fifty (50) of the 50 States adopted codes patterned after the 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2005, or 2009 versions of the Food Code.  A breakdown by Food Code version follows*:                 

  • Six States adopted the 1993, 1995 or 1997 Food Code.
    • Kentucky, Nevada, South Dakota, Minnesota, Hawaii, South Carolina

  • Nine States adopted the 1999 Food Code.
    • Alaska, Arizona, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Tennessee

  • Eleven States adopted the 2001 Food Code.
    • California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, New Jersey, Oregon, Texas, Vermont, Washington

  • Seventeen States adopted the 2005 Food Code.
    • Alabama, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

  • Seven States adopted the 2009 Food Code.
    • Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma
*Because of rounding of the individual percentages, the entries in this section will not sum to 100%

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software