Association of Food and Drug Officials
"Promoting Public Health, Fostering Uniformity, and Establishing Partnerships"
 
 

Blog

Home > News > Blog

Blog

  • February 29, 2012 3:41 PM | Anonymous
    This update was provided courtesy of AFDO's Laws and Regulations Committee.  The Laws and Regulations Committee is responsible for the continuous review, up-dating, and development of model laws and regulations so that the AFDO goal of uniform food, drug and other consumer protection laws is achieved.

    OMB


    FSMA


    FSIS



    IOM


    AMS




    FSMA


    USDA



    APHIS



    AMS




  • February 01, 2012 1:16 PM | Anonymous
    The International Food Protection Training Institute (IFPTI) is pleased to announce that we are currently accepting applications for the 2012-13 cohort of the "Applied Science, Law, and Policy: Fellowship in Food Protection" program.
     
    This unique program is designed to provide a select group of future leaders from the state and local food protection community with an intense professional development experience focused on critical thinking, problem solving and decision-making skills.  The primary intended audience is state, local, tribal, and territorial food regulatory professionals in the journey (2-5 years experience) and technical (5-10 years experience) profession levels.  
     
    The Fellowship in Food Protection is a series of three week-long training sessions that will be held at IFPTI in Battle Creek, Michigan over the course of one year beginning in August, 2012.  
     
    The sessions are divided in the following subjects: 1) Applied Law, 2) Compliance, 3) Policies & Strategies, 4) The Impact of Science, 5) Food Systems Control Applications, and 6) Prevention, Intervention, and Response.  The Fellows will also complete research projects during the course of the year and will present their findings at the annual AFDO Conference.
     
    The program overview and applications are available online on our Fellowship page. IFPTI will reimburse all appropriate program-related travel expenses including airfare, hotel, and meals.  
     
    Application deadline is March 1, 2012. 
     
    Notification and confirmation of selected participants is May 15, 2012.
     
    Cohort 3 Fellows will be announced at the Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO) annual conference June 2-6, 2012 in Providence, Rhode Island.
     
    Thank you!

    Gerald Wojtatla
    Executive Director
  • February 01, 2012 11:41 AM | Anonymous
    AFDO and the Board of Directors would like to welcome its newest members to the Association!  Thank you for commitment and supporting our mission!
     

    Sandra Alfred

    s.alfred@cityofchicago.org

    312-746-8030

     

    Timothy Anderson

    Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection

    timothy.anderson@wisconsin.gov

    608-224-4716

     

    Jill Ball

    Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture

    jill.ball@wisconsin.gov

    608-224-4665

     

    Jeff Chow

    Kellogg Company

    jeff.chow@kellogg.com

    269-961-3958

     

    Shana Davis

    Lexington-Fayette Co. Health Dept.

    shana_davis76@hotmail.com

     

    Kristin DeMarco Shaw

    City of Portsmouth Health Department

    kmshaw@cityofportsmouth.com

     

    Brenda George

    Kansas Department of Agriculture

    brenda.george@kda.ks.gov

    785-296-5600

     

    Jennifer Godwin

    NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

    jennifer.godwin@ncagr.gov

     

    Leonard Grossberg

    City of Vernon

    lgrossberg@ci.vernon.ca.us

    323/583-8811

     

    Peter Haase

    Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture

    peter.haase@wisconsin.gov

    608-224-4711

     

    Nicole Hamm

    Kansas Department of Agriculture

    nicole.hamm@kda.ks.gov

    785-296-5600

     

    Jimmy Hopper

    Tennessee State Department of Agriculture

    jimmy.hopper@tn.gov

    615-837-5152

     

    Karla Horne

    Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development

    hornek@michigan.gov

     

    Bill Kushubar

    Computer Aid Inc.

    bill_kushubar@compaid.exchange.com

    717-651-3037

     

    Terri McConnell

    FDA - U.S. Food & Drug Administration

    terri.mcconnell@fda.hhs.gov

    404-253-1217

     

    Aaron McNeill

    Indian Health Service

    aaron.mcneill@ihs.gov

     

    Amy Minor

    West Virginia Department of Agriculture

    aminor@ag.state.wv.us

    304-558-2227

     

    Kathryn Nagy

    FDA - U.S. Food & Drug Administration

    kathryn.nagy@fda.hhs.gov

    404-253-1200

     

    Joann O'Connell

    Abbott Laboratories

    joann.oconnell@abbott.com

    847-937-5857

     

    Jacqueline Owens

    Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture

    jacqueline.owens@wisconsin.gov

    608-224-7434

     

    Alice Robison

    Northeast Tri County Health District

    arobison@netchd.org

     

    Karla Ruzicka

    USDC/NOAA Seafood Inspection Program

    karla.ruzicka@noaa.gov

    978-281-9269

     

    Alison Sackley

    Kellogg Company

    alison.sackley@kellogg.com

    269-961-9147

     

    Erin Sawyer

    New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets

    erin.sawyer@agriculture.ny.gov

    518-457-5380

     

    Jonathan Sorrento

    Kraft Foods

    jonathan.sorrento@kraftfoods.com

    847-646-0282

     

    Sarah Sunday

    Kraft Foods

    sarah.sunday@kraftfoods.com

    847-646-0225

     

    Jodi Taylor

    OH Department of Agriculture, Div. of Meat Inspection

    taylor@agri.ohio.gov

     

    Shane Thompson

    WY Department of Agriculture

    shane.thompson@wyo.gov

     

    April Veoukas

    Abbott Laboratories

    april.veoukas@abbott.com

    847-937-8197

     

    Jean Weese

    Auburn University

    weesesj@auburn.edu

    334-844-3269

     

    Jennine Wolf

    Washington County Environmental Dept.

    jwolf@co.washington.ia.us

     

    Joe Zeman

    Medline Industries

    jczeman@medline.com

    847-643-4571

     

    Wendy Zwolenski-Lambert

    Abbott Laboratories 
  • January 23, 2012 10:47 AM | Anonymous
    AFDO is pleased to announce that the inaugural Manufactured Food Regulatory Program Standards (MFRPS) training course and the Manufactured Food Regulatory Program Alliance (MFRPA) meeting will be held March 27-29, 2012 in Kansas City, Missouri.

    The MFRP Alliance will be a great opportunity to enhance the working relationship States have with FDA.

  • January 04, 2012 2:21 PM | Anonymous
    BATTLE CREEK, Mich., January 4, 2011 - The International Food Protection Training Institute (IFPTI), today announced four deliveries of “Application of the Basics of Inspection and Investigation.” The course is being held on January 23-25 and January 25-27 in Richmond, Virginia.  The course is also being held February 6-8 and February 8-10 in Brooklyn, New York.   These courses are offered at no direct cost to state and local food protection agencies.

    This three-day course is designed to be the classroom component of basic food safety inspector training. It covers topics such as food sample collection, investigating foodborne illnesses, and risk-based inspection techniques.

    “The Application Course is the capstone of entry level training for food inspectors and is key to preparing them for their critical role in protecting the food supply,” said Gerald Wojtala, Executive Director at the International Food Protection Training Institute (IFPTI).

  • December 09, 2011 1:41 PM | Anonymous
    Join AFDO and IFPTI at the 2012 Food Safety Summit in Washington, DC.  AFDO members are entitled to a special 10% discount on registration, and AFDO President, Oscar Garrison, will be delivering the Keynote, entitled, "Building an Integrated Food System: How the Food Industry and Public Health Officials Must Collaborate to Succeed.”  This keynote will offer the most up-to-date information about some of the hottest food safety issues facing the industry!

    The Food Safety Summit is the largest food safety and defense exposition in North America, providing useful food safety information and solutions to those responsible for assuring food safety across the food supply chain, thereby keeping the food safety platform current and relevant for today and tomorrow.  

    For more information, please visit the Food Safety Summit Website.  Early-bird registration ends March 2nd.

  • October 21, 2011 12:12 PM | Anonymous
    The online Seafood HACCP Alliance Trainer Re-Qualification course is now available to existing AFDO-approved trainers who were unable to attend one of the trainer re-qualification sessions that took place in June and July.

    The deadline for taking the Trainer Re-Qualification Course is March 1, 2012.
  • October 05, 2011 12:08 PM | Anonymous
    In August, AFDO Past-President Ron Klein traveled to Qingdao, China through Beijing, to represent AFDO at the first Seafood HACCP Alliance (SHA) Train the Trainer Course taught to Chinese regulatory officials. The course which delivered by Steve Otwell from University of Florida, Gainesville and Ken Gall from Cornell University, and was held less than one year after Steve, Ken, Ron and Joe Corby met with Chinese regulatory officials and Mr. Chong Hua Zhang, the University of Florida's representative in Beijing in Newark, New Jersey to sign a cooperative agreement which would bring the course to China.

    Qingdao is a community of 4 million people located west of Beijing, on the coast of the Yellow Sea. It was home to the sailing events during the 2008 summer Olympics. Qingdao is well known for its Tsingdao brewery, which was founded by German settlers in 1903. The training was held at the Qingdao Customs Training Center, which is only a half mile from the beach.

    The Chinese Entry-Exit Inspection and Quarantine Agency (CIQA), which is has broad inspection authority in China for a number of areas including manufactured food sponsored the training. It was held in a large auditorium with a banner proclaiming the event hanging over the stage. It began with short remarks by a number of dignitaries including the President of CIQA and the leader of the Certification and Accreditation Administration of the People's Republic of China, the U.S. FDA's country Christopher Hickey and Ron.

    The Seafood HACCP Course was taught first to ensure that the future trainers were familiar with the course material they were going to teach. The course was taught in English by the Steve and Ken and translated to Chinese by a CIQA interpreter. CIQA had prepared for the course by translating the training manual into Chinese along with the material in English.  Most of the students were already very knowledgeable in seafood HACCP and were very serious and engaged students. A class banquet was held on the final night of the basic course, with kegs of fresh Tsingdao beer brought in for the occasion. Many toasts were given and pictures taken. It was clear the instructors and students had become quick friends.
 

Copyright © 2013 Association of Food and Drug Officials.  All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software