Association of Food and Drug Officials

FDA Announces Release of Revised Animal Feed Regulatory Program Standards

March 03, 2017 1:28 PM | AFDO Test

March 1, 2017

Dear Colleagues,

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) are pleased to announce the release of the revised Animal Feed Regulatory Program Standards (AFRPS).  The development of the original AFRPS in February 2014, and the recent revisions to the AFRPS, are the result of a cooperative effort by federal and state regulators.  These standards benefit regulators and the industry by promoting uniformity and consistency among regulatory programs.

Revising the AFRPS is both a function of keeping the document current with appropriate federal approvals and making sure that the standards serve to facilitate continual improvement in state regulatory animal feed programs.  The current revisions are not intended to overhaul the document and are largely editorial in nature.  The main revisions to the document include the addition of a definition section and a new numbering layout that allows for quick reference and alignment with international standards, assessment tools, and other regulatory program standards.  The revisions to the individual standards are focused on providing clarity to requirements that were identified as needing additional explanation during the first three years of implementation.

The FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (Pub. Law 111-353), which was signed into law on January 4, 2011, calls for enhanced partnerships of government agencies and provides a legal mandate for developing a national Integrated Food Safety System (IFSS). A key element of an IFSS is the uniform application of model program standards so that regulatory agencies conduct inspections under the same set of standards. In addition to the AFRPS, model regulatory program standards currently exist for human food programs, namely the Manufactured Food Regulatory Program Standards and the Voluntary National Retail Food Regulatory Program Standards. As the U.S. moves toward integrating food safety resources, using uniform standards across feed regulatory programs is critical.

The feed standards are standards for animal feed regulatory programs, not for manufacturers of animal feed.  The feed standards are comprised of eleven individual standards: regulatory foundation, training, inspection program, auditing, feed-related illness or death and emergency response, enforcement program, outreach activities, budget and planning, laboratory services, sampling program, and assessment and improvement of standard implementation.  The eleven standards, designed to strengthen the safety and integrity of the U.S. animal feed supply, are also the core elements of a State’s regulatory program.  The feed standards provide a framework that every State can use to determine the strengths and needs of their program.  They also provide the foundation for mutual reliance on inspections and other work conducted by federal and state agencies.

Copies of the revised AFRPS and Summary of Changes may be downloaded from FDA’s internet website by clicking on 2017 AFRPS and Summary of Changes.  For additional information on the AFRPS, please

Questions and comments regarding the revised standards may be sent to the FDA’s Office of Partnerships at or Kevin Klommhaus in FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine at

This message is being broadcast by ORA's Division of Communications.

Thank you,

Office of Communications and Quality Program Management
Division of Communications


Copyright © 2016 Association of Food and Drug Officials. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software